The Phantom by Jo Nesbo

I’ve been glancing at books by Jo Nesbo and then walking away, mostly because translated books are a turn off for me. This book however surprised me, the depth of the story didn’t get lost in translation making it a hard to put down read. 
Harry Hole has been on the run but when Oleg, a boy he considered a son, is charged with the murder of his friend and fellow drug dealer Harry returns to Oslo to clear his name. Harry was a former police officer before he disappeared to Hong Kong and the local police is not pleased with his return. His reputation as an alcoholic and a man who takes the law into his own hands doesn’t help him while trying to clear Oleg’s name. He is a force to be reckoned with and a protagonist like no other.  
The story is detailed, well written and action driven. I found the writing to be odd at first but then the story quickly took off and drew me in. Harry is an odd protagonist. You love his intentions but despise his selfless ways. I wish I hadn’t started with the ninth book in the series, I honestly don’t know what I was thinking but I will definitely be going back to number one and reading the whole series. Jo Nesbo’s The Phantom was a surprisingly good read. 

Leave a Reply

