I promise to read a little less and live a little more

I’ve read 34 books this year and according to Goodreads I surpassed my reading goal. This doesn’t however appease me as much as years passed. As i look at the rows and rows of books I’ve read and my never-ending list of books I would like to read I’ve come to the realization that as much as these books have given me they’ve also taken something away. I don’t know about you but I am an all consuming reader. When I’m into a book the rest of the world doesn’t matter. I don’t want to socialize on my lunch break, any free time I have is dedicated to reading, I would rather read then talk, hell sometimes I would rather read then eat or sleep but that’s the power of books isn’t it? They make you want, need, sacrifice in so many ways. I’m glad I’ve read all of the books that I have in my lifetime because I have an appreciation for the power of words and the tendrils of creativity that go into creating something that means so much to so many people. Books have helped me better understand relationships. They gave me a place to grow through both my childhood and adult years but my New Years resolution for this year is to not attach a number to a book. I won’t try and finish a book within a certain time frame, I won’t look at how many books i can read in a month or a year and most of all I won’t look at how much time I can spend reading within a day. Life is short, books are great but they should’t take away from life. I promise to read a little less and live a little more.

Do you have a book resolution for the New Year?

2 thoughts on “I promise to read a little less and live a little more

Leave a Reply

