A show that was as good as a book

I’ve seen One Tree Hill three times now and although some may have written the show off as another teeny bopper melodrama I can tell you that it most definitely was not. Each episode began and ended with literary quotes from the likes of Julius Ceaser, E. E Cummings and Shakespeare. More then that, the writers of the show gave such depth to the characters that at times I was convinced that within the body of these young men and women were wise old people living a life in hindsight and realizing all that was important and everything that was not.

I realize that this is a blog about books but I think that the reason we get attached to books and different forms of writing is because they impact us, make us think and most of all make us want to be something. One Tree Hill was a show about teenagers and the regular pitfalls of adolescence but there was something strangely beautiful about the small town and it’s inhabitants. The characters felt less like snooty teenagers and more like kids who had figured things out. There is life beyond high school, labels are not permanent, love is transient at the worst of times and beautiful at the best. Family is a loose thread, a cannon really in a world that’s waging too many wars but it’s a safe harbour and one that shouldn’t be taken for granted. It was a show about life at the best and worst of times.

Below are words of wisdom from the talented writers of One Tree Hill:

I was thinking about the finality of it all – how somebody can leave your world in the blink of an eye and be gone forever. It’s too enormous to think about. It’s too hard. And then you’re just supposed to go on, right, like just deal with it, I mean really you’re only supposed to be sad for as long as the flowers last and then, oh, time to go back to telling jokes and reminiscing about the old days.

Truth is still absolute. Believe that. Even when that truth is hard and cold, and more painful than you’ve ever imagined. And even when truth is more cruel than any lie.

I want to draw something that means something to someone. You know, I want to draw blind faith or a fading summer or just a moment of clarity. It’s like when you go and you see a really great band live for the first time, you know, and nobody’s saying it but everybody’s thinking it: “We have something to believe in again.” I want to draw that feeling. But I can’t. And if I can’t be great at it then I don’t want to ruin it. It’s too important to me.

Someone once said; ‘It’s the good girls who keep diaries. The bad girls never have the time. Me… I just wanna live a life I’m gonna remember. Even if I don’t write it down…

Anna, it’s not about who I am, okay. It’s about who they are. They are people who hate, and they divide, and they feed off of people who don’t fight back. Yeah I could laugh this off, but what about the girl who can’t? Who’s gonna help her. Silence only makes them stronger.

Leave a Reply

