Broken Homes by Ben Aaronovitch

I feeI I didn’t do this book justice. I was so in love with the first three that I zipped through this one without really stopping to smell the flowers. Does that make sense?

Peter and Leslie are on a mission with more twists and turns then ever before. In Broken Homes they are troubled by a mysterious building filled with eclectic individuals who refuse to be relocated. The city wants Skygarden torn down but the residents want to stay. Peter, Leslie and Nightingale think that there is more to this building then just great architecture, that maybe it’s being used as a magical holding cell and this is what the Faceless man is after. But how do you stop a man that you cannot find? How do you stop a crazy Russian lady from freezing your face off every time you try to take her down? How do you know if you’re in love with the woman you work with or with a lovely river god?. The body count is high and the magical misfits are running rampant, Peter, Leslie and Nightingale have their work cutout for them in this one.

I mentioned at the beginning of this review that I felt I didn’t do this book justice and I stand by that. The reason being that this is a potato chip series. Don’t get me wrong, it’s well written, funny and a great read but it’s never going to wow you the same way that the first book did. The writing is consistently good, the character’s are flawed but relatable and the series is good enough that I will follow it for as long as my attention span and patience will allow. However, if there were three more books available in this series right now I wouldn’t go running to grab them. The reason being that they never offer anything new. They follow a predictable formulaic storyline and although I like the series, I’m not in love with it. It’s no Harry Potter but it’s a suitable brain vacation before my next big read.

With that being said, a unique and brilliant aspect of this series is that Aaronovitch saves his most amazing twist for the very end. My heart was racing as I dashed through the last few pages of the novel. Despite being predictable in many ways, the author does a wonderful job smacking you in the face with a cliffhanger you never saw coming.

If you’re looking for a light, fun read before your next big foray into a dark novel then this is the book and series for you.

One thought on “Broken Homes by Ben Aaronovitch

  1. Pingback: Book Review – Foxglove Summer by Ben Aaronovitch |

Leave a Reply

