The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt: I tried to like it I really did

I hate not finishing a book, it’s one of my pet peeves. Not knowing how something ends drives me crazy. I disliked this book so much that I broke my rule and decided I didn’t care how it ended. This is going to sound harsh but this book drove me crazy. So much of the narrative was lost in the nonsensical writing and the language was offbeat in a way that made me cringe and want the novel to end.

Don’t get me wrong I’m sure the writing appeals to a lot of other readers but if you’re going to use complicated vocabulary atleast make sure that it adds something to the story. I think with the Goldfinch the narrative was lost through badly used language. The story was hard to follow, the characters difficult to pinpoint and relate to and the setting had a dream like quality that when beginning a novel is hard to comprehend.

I’m actually going to return this book (if I can) that’s how much it annoyed me. Even though it was printed on beautiful paper and came in hardcover it was not worth the money. 

What are your thoughts? Have you read the Goldfinch? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

