The Rape Joke by Patricia Lockwood

Ever since I can remember I have found it astoundingly easy and therapeutic to put feelings into poems. Why? Because there is a truth to short sentences, broken phrases and free flowing words. It’s a way to express yourself without feeling the need to give back story, to make sense or to write for anyone at all. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good novel but there is something about poetry that is just…well it’s stripped down, bare and real.

I came across Rape Joke by Patricia Lockwood and I felt the need to grab a pen and a paper and start writing something just as in your face. I wanted to punch someone with injustice, make them take a step back, make them think.

The Rape Joke is controversial, witty and language at its best. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

http://www.theawl.com/2013/07/rape-joke-patricia-lockwood

Leave a Reply

