Random act of kindness #1

Although this is mainly a blog about books I hope you won’t mind this small diversion.

I came to a decision this week to chronicle random acts of kindness. You may be wondering why and here’s my reasoning; there’s enough bad in this world and I think it’s time we acknowledged the good.

I’m making a decision that from now on whenever I encounter a random act of kindness I will chronicle it on my blog. Here’s hoping that it reminds us all to smile widely, love deeply and worry less.

The random act of kindness that inspired this post happened yesterday afternoon. My grandma is a small woman. She walks with a cane but shuffles forward everyday refusing to let the pain in her legs dominate her life. Yesterday, she fought through the discomfort and asked us if we could stop by her pharmacy. She owed them $30. A measly amount I thought but for her it was a promise. Declining to let any of us pay on her behalf she limped slowly to the counter while my mother and I waited by the door.

She asked for throat lozenges and took out the $30 she owed plus money for the lozenges. The woman behind the counter took the $30 and put the lozenges in the bag.

“How much do I owe you?” my grandmother asked.

“Don’t worry,” said the pharmacist “just take it, anything for you”

My grandma stopped and looked at her in disbelief. Thinking, I know, that nothing in life is free. Satisfied that the woman had meant what she said she thanked her and walked away. Cane clutched tightly in one hand and the white bag in the other.

It was then that I noticed the pharmacy was closed, had in fact been closed for a few minutes now.

It’s the small moments in life that make us stop and realize that things aren’t always as bad as they seem. There is good everywhere but sometimes we just forget to look.

Here’s hoping that this put a smile on your face and lifted your spirits even a little bit.

“Three things in human life are important: the first is to be kind; the second is to be kind; and the third is to be kind.”
― Henry James

4 thoughts on “Random act of kindness #1

Leave a Reply

