The life and times of the bullied

A snippet of a story:

Sailor Moon was my hero growing up. The lightning bolt courage that struck at the right time, the fierce loyalty to her friends, the kickass shoes, what’s not to love? I used to envision sitting in class and a monster with tentacles the width of the room going for my classmates. I imagined that I would break out of my shy girl cocoon, float into the air, do a complicated spin complete with an outfit change and suddenly I would be beautiful. Mostly I would be powerful. I would save them all, even that one boy who I wouldn’t have minded if the monster had swallowed up. I was noble after all; a superhero and even the bad guys needed to be saved.

Leave a Reply

