If I say that writing a book is not easy, it would be the understatement of the year.

Last fall I began to write a novel, ok numerous novels, short stories and in betweens (I have no idea what I was aiming for with these particular stories). My goal for this fall is to actually finish what I started. Below is an excerpt from the beginning of my novel. It’s ambiguous I know but I am still debating the pros and cons of posting bits and pieces of it.

I need to go

You don’t need to, you just want to

What’s the difference?

Need is when you have no choice of your own, want, well that’s just trouble.

She nodded, hearing his words but already envisioning something else, something more.

He didn’t understand because he was content with his life here.

She wasn’t and never would be. A promise of something more was beckoning her and she would go.

“You don’t have to burn books to destroy a culture. You just get people to stop reading them” – Ray Bradbury.

Leave a Reply

